The Church dedicates the month of September to Our Lady of Sorrows. 

This devotion recalls the Blessed Virgin Mary’s spiritual martyrdom in virtue of her perfect union with the Passion of Christ. This was her role in salvation history, and what merited her place as the spiritual Mother of all Christians. This is symbolized by a single sword, or seven swords, piercing Mary's suffering heart, as foretold in Simeon's prophecy. Traditionally the Church meditates on the "Seven Sorrows" of our Blessed Mother: the prophecy of Simeon; the Holy Family's flight into Egypt; the loss of the Child Jesus for three days; the meeting of Mary and Jesus as he carried his cross; Jesus' crucifixion and death; Jesus' sacred body taken down from the cross; and Jesus' burial.
The feast of Our Lady of Sorrows is September 15th.


Meditation on the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady is a way of sharing in the sorrows of Mary’s life.


There are seven sorrows of Mary. 

  1. The prophecy of Simeon

  2. The flight into Egypt

  3. Losing Jesus for three days when he was in the Temple

  4. Meeting Jesus on his way to Calvary

  5. Jesus' crucifixion and death

  6. Jesus' being taken down from the Cross

  7. Jesus being laid in the Tomb

As we pray one Our Father, seven Hail Marys, and one Glory Be for each sorrow, we ponder the pain she endured, and we ask her to help us understand the evil we have done, and to lead us to repentance. By joining our sorrows with Mary’s, as she joined her sacrifices with those of her Son, we participate in the work of our redemption and that of the whole world.



In the 14th century, the Blessed Mother revealed to St Bridget of Sweden

that she would bestow seven graces on those who meditate on her sorrow regularly by praying 7 Hail Marys for each Sorrow. 

Those graces are:

  1. “I will grant peace to their families.”

  2. “They will be enlightened about the divine Mysteries.”

  3. “I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.”

  4. “I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of my divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.”

  5. “I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.”

  6. “I will visibly help them at the moment of their death—they will see the face of their mother.”

  7. “I have obtained this grace from my divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and dolors will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.”

in the power of signs and wonders, in the power of the Spirit; so that from Jerusalem and round about as far as Illyricum I have fully preached the gospel of Christ.
- ROMANS 15:19 -